Bangalore, India

Author: Admin

Guests From the Other Side

This piece won third place in Fandom Menace at Metonym 2020. Parvathi was on one of the mandatory rounds of patrol of the bazaar surrounding the palace grounds, when she heard a commotion. She turned around to investigate the problem. A shopkeeper was selling her copper wares to two men but instead of selling her…
Read more

Gandalf, where are we?

Parvathy Shaji of 3rd CEB won 2nd place in Fandom Menace in Metonym 2020. “Gandalf, where are we?” “I can’t be too sure but I think this ring of yours would know.”, said Gandalf twirling the yellow ring in his hands. Gandalf was enjoying his afternoon in the Shire after a really long time when…
Read more

Of Calvin and Hobbes

By Yasmin Daniel of 1st JIP. This piece won Fandom Menace at Metonym 2020. Hobbes didn’t know what to think. Actually, scratch that. Hobbes hadn’t known what to think when Calvin had proudly presented his new machine; or what to think when the machine actually worked (Calvin’s machines had a surprising habit of working against…
Read more

META 2020

  Greetings! The Department of English at St. Joseph’s College hosts META, an annual Festival of Literature, to promote reading and writing among young people. We are holding the 8th edition of this unique festival this year. META 2020 will be inaugurated on 4th February 2020 and will run till the 20th of February at…
Read more

Winning Entries

Takedown Deep Deep Deep Takedown Takedown First place : Tele-Evangelists My brother renounced Christianity after some uncle on Shalom TV proclaimed that esus Christ’s blood type was AB +ve. Whether JC really could’ve been a candidate blood donor to me is a aquestion for another time. What amuses me now is how some uncle from…
Read more

META 2018

The winners of the Prof. T.G. Vaidyanathan Memorial Film Review Contest are: 1. Venkataraman Ravindra (II MA, SJC). 2. Nikhita Thomas (I EJP, SJC). 3. Pranav Jagdish (PESIT).   The winners of Cover Drive held on 12th February are: 1. Sharon Varghese and Miracline Kiruba (II EJP, SJC). 2. Bibith Joy and Phillip Victor (II…
Read more

META 2018 Day 11: Results for Straplines Journalism Quiz!

The winners of the quiz are: 1. Santosh Swaminarayan and Avinash Thirumalai. 2. Shared by Nishant Raman, Rajgopal PS and Anush Iyer, Pranav R. 3. Tanmay Prusty and Preyoshi Ganguly.

META 2018 Day 10: Results for Poetry Slam!

The winners of Poetry Slam are: 1. Sidhanth Ashok (II EJP, SJC). 2. Mehul Jain (III BCA, SJC). 3. Shared by Bhavishya Sundar (I EJP, SJC) and Nidhi Satish (BMS).

META 2018 Blue Pencil Day 9: Results for Nosecut and Anchor What!

The winners for Nosecut are: 1. Shared by Zoe Rita Patrick, Vignesh Kumaraguru and Gingolul Vaiphei, Maahir Mohiuddin. 2. Jones Biju and Devyani Satyam. 3. Chandni Shah and Nikita Nath. The winners of Anchor What are: 1. Nidal Abrar and Niranjan Raju. 2. Neeha Shaitus and Betcy S. 3. Chandni Shah and Bibith Joy.